Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Local School Districts Nominate Winthrop Alumni as Teachers of the Year

Quick Facts

 More than 20 Winthrop alumni were nominated for Teacher of the Year in the Rock Hill, York, Fort Mill and Clover school districts.
 Two alumnae won Teacher of the Year in Rock Hill and York.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA — Winthrop University’s Richard W. Riley College of Education is known as the flagship teacher education program in the state and the region.

It’s not surprising, then, that when local school districts such as Rock Hill, York, Fort Mill and Clover announce their annual Teachers of the Year candidates, many Winthrop alumni make the grade.

From the Rock Hill School District, Rachel Glibbery ’08, ’11, an English as a Second Language teacher at Northwestern High School, captured the district’s Teacher of the Year honors. Other Winthrop alumni who were nominees for the award include:

*Kay Bramlett ’79 (Ebenezer Avenue Elementary)
*Tiffany Burris ’95 (Mount Holly Elementary)
*Rachel Faille ’05, ‘07 (York Road Elementary)
*Heather Gregory ’95 (Mount Gallant Elementary)
*Jennifer Kosa ’02 (The Children’s School)
*Angie Minter-Johnson ’95, ’95 (Flex Center/Renaissance)
*Chris Morgan ’04, ‘11 (Old Pointe Elementary)
*Jannetta Morrison ’01 (Belleview Elementary)
*Erin Webb ’04 (Rosewood Elementary)

Another Winthrop alumna, Jennifer Capps ’02, won Teacher of the Year honors from the York School District. Capps is a 4-K teacher at Harold C. Johnson Elementary School. Other Winthrop alumni who were nominees for the award include:

*Martha Dial ’85, ’96 (Hickory Grove/Sharon Elementary)
*Patrice Green ’10 (York Middle)
*Freda Linen ’03 (York Comprehensive High)
*Terry Roddey ’92 (Hunter Street Elementary)

Three Winthrop alumna were in the running for the Fort Mill School District Teacher of the Year honor. They included:

*Kay DeWalt ’99, ’01 (Riverview Elementary School)
*Kim Lee ’80 (Pleasant Knoll Elementary School)
*Julie Raischel ’01, ’06 (Springfield Middle School)

Finally, four alumna were up for the Clover School District’s Teacher of the Year honors. They included:

*Tammy Adams ’92, ’97 (Griggs Road Elementary)
*Ashley Brown ‘07 (Crowders Creek Elementary)
*Miriam Edwards ’08 (Oakridge Middle)
*Otis Neely ’93 (Blue Eagle Academy)

Congratulations to these Teachers of the Year winners!

For more information, contact Nicole Chisari at or 803-323-2236.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211