Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Board of Trustee Members Approve Faculty Changes

Quick Facts

 The Division of Academic Affairs presented the names of the faculty members who earned tenure or promotion after an extensive review process this year.
 Nine faculty members were granted sabbaticals, and another seven retired with emeritus status.

Debra Boyd
ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA - Winthrop University’s Board of Trustees granted faculty tenure, promotion, sabbaticals and emeritus status at its June 19 quarterly meeting.

The Division of Academic Affairs presented the names of the faculty members who earned tenure or promotion after an extensive review process this year. These faculty members received notification this spring from Acting President Debra Boyd, who also serves as the university's provost.

Six faculty members were awarded tenure. They are: Casey Cothran, English; Maria Gelabert, chemistry; Kunsiri Grubbs, biology; Kathryn Davis, physical education; Shawnna Helf, literacy; and Janet Wojcik, exercise science.

Seventeen faculty members were awarded promotions to professor or associate professor. They include to rank of professor:

Beth Costner, mathematics
Maria Gelabert, chemistry
Aaron Hartel, chemistry
Michael Lipscomb, political science
Julian Smith, biology
Virginia Williams, history
Keith Benson, management
Chlotia Garrison, computer science
Janet Gray, theatre
Ronald Parks, music
Seymour Simmons, fine arts
Spiro Shetuni, Dacus Library

And to rank of associate professor:

Casey Cothran, English
Nicholas Grossoehme, chemistry
Kunsiri Grubbs, biology
Shawnna Helf, literacy
David Vawter, education

Several faculty members were granted sabbaticals during the 2015-16 academic year to work on research. They are:

• Brent Cagle, associate professor of social work, spring 2016.
He will examine animal concerns in social work practice, theory and teaching. He also will study animal assisted therapies, connections between interpersonal violence and animal abuse, publish articles on this topic, and design a new elective course.

• Heather Evans Anderson, associate professor of biology, spring 2016
She will finalize and submit in-progress research for publication, serve as president-elect of the S.C. Academy of Science and coordinate the annual meeting to be held at Winthrop in April 2016.

• Gregg Hecimovich, professor of English, academic year 2015-16
He will accept a National Humanities Center residency appointment and complete his book: “The Life and Times of Hannah Crafts.”

• Scott Huffmon, professor of political science, academic year 2015-16
He will complete survey research and develop articles on proposed constitutional changes allowing for same-sex marriage in the Presbyterian Church–USA.

• Padmini Patwardhan, professor of mass communication, fall 2015
She will pursue research in leadership in advertising.

• Jane Thomas, professor of marketing, spring 2016
She will participate in the global luxury management program at N.C. State University and interview advertising professionals abroad.

• Tomoko Deguchi, associate professor of music, spring 2015
She will complete a monograph on Japanese composer Toru Takemitsu.

• Mark Lewis, associate professor of music, fall 2015
He will compose music for a collaborative project involving opera, dance and theatre for the Joseph Campbell Foundation.

• Marge Moody, professor of fine arts, spring 2016
She will prepare her art for a solo exhibition scheduled for summer 2016 at the College of Bellas Artes at the University of Porto, Portugal.

Winthrop will bid farewell to seven faculty members who are retiring with 10 years or more of service and are eligible for the faculty emeritus status.

Board members granted emeritus status to the following faculty members who have a total of 125 years of dedicated service: Rebecca Evers, professor of special education; James McKim, professor of computer science; Mark Mitchell, associate professor of educational leadership; Anne Olsen, associate professor of computer science; Peter Phillips, professor of biology; Marilyn Sarow, professor of mass communication; and Martha Spears, professor of management.

For more information, contact Judy Longshaw, news and media services manager, at 803/323-2404 or

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211