Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Nine Former Student-Athletes Will Be Inducted Into 2015 Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Quick Facts

 A total of 66 former players, coaches and administrators have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 2004.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA — Nine former student-athletes representing seven sports have been selected for induction into the 2015 class of the Winthrop University Athletics Hall of Fame. The induction dinner and ceremony are scheduled for Friday, Jan. 23, in the Richardson Ballroom of the DiGiorgio Campus Center at 6:30 p.m.

For ticket information, contact Sharen DuBard at 803/323-2129, ext. 6218.

With this induction class, a total of 66 former players, coaches and administrators will have been enshrined in the Winthrop Athletics Hall of Fame, established in 2004.

Inductees are:

Ian Cardey
Cardey was a four-time Big South All-Conference selection 1991-94 and was selected as Winthrop’s team MVP all four years. He was a NSCAA All-South Region pick in 1991-93. Following his Eagle career, Cardey played professionally with the Myrtle Beach Boyz in 1995 and the 1996 Canadian Indoor National Soccer Team. He went on to play professionally in Canada for three years (1998-2001). He earned his master’s degree in education from the University of Toronto and has served as a teacher in four different countries, including Singapore, Cuba, Guatemala and Malaysia.

Kyle Christman
Christman captured the Big South Conference Golfer of the Year in 2002 after winning medalist honors at the conference championship tournament. He is one of two men’s golfers to be voted Big South Scholar-Athlete of the Year three times (2002-2004). He earned All-Big South honors in 2002 and was a three-time Big South All-Academic Team member. In 2004, he was named to the CoSIDA Academic All-America second team. He is currently tied for seventh on the all-time Big South Tournament list for lowest 54-hole score of 211 which he accomplished in 2002, and he is tied for fourth on the all-time Big South Tournament list for the lowest round of 67, also accomplished in 2002.

Jennifer (Churchill) Bruce
Bruce was voted to the All-Big South Conference Team three times and is one of only two players in Winthrop women’s basketball history to earn All-Big South honors three or more times. She was a two-time Big South All-Tournament Team selection. In 1996, she was voted to the Big South All-Freshman team as she received Freshman of the Week honors four times during the season. She ranks sixth on the Winthrop career scoring list with 1,277 points, and holds the school record for field goal percentage in a season (.583) and career (.554) while ranking fifth in Big South history. She currently ranks third on the Winthrop career free throw percentage list (.735) and is seventh all-time in rebounding (714).

Bob Masella
Despite playing only one year due to a career cut short by injuries suffered in an automobile accident, Masella is among the highest honored men’s soccer players in school history. In his one season in 1982 as a goalkeeper, Masella was selected to the NSCAA All-America Team, the NSCAA All-Region Team, the NAIA All-Area Team, and the NAIA All-District 6 Team. He ranks first on the school’s all-time single season save percentage list (.896), and is tied for seventh in single season shutouts (6). Following the accident that ended his soccer career, Masella began competing in wheelchair tennis and became nationally ranked and a three-time U.S. Open Champion in doubles.

Ana Paula (Novaes) Zanette
Zanette was voted Big South Conference women’s tennis Player of the Year in 2006, and was a four-time All-Big South Conference singles selection (2004-07), and a three-time All-Big South doubles selection (2004, 2006, and 2007). She helped lead the Eagles to three Big South Conference championships and three appearances in the NCAA regional. She won more than 50 career matches and was 23-2 in Big South singles and 20-3 in Big South doubles. In 2006, she went undefeated in conference matches with a 9-0 record and compiled an overall No. 1 singles record of 21-12 that season. She achieved an ITA national ranking of 125 in 2006.

Dimi Poulos
Poulos is the first former Winthrop women’s soccer player to receive Hall of Fame induction. She was voted the 2006 Big South Conference Player of the Year, and was a four-time All-Big South goalkeeper selection, receiving first-team honors in 2006 and 2007, and second team honors in 2005 and 2008. She helped lead Winthrop to its first Big South Conference regular season title in 2006 and earned All-Tournament Team honors that same year. She was also selected on the Big South Conference’s All-Decade Team. She still ranks in the Big South’s top 10 list for career shutouts, career goals against average, and total saves.

Tim Raxter
Raxter was a member of the first Winthrop men’s basketball team and helped lead the Eagles to a 94-43 record during his four years (1979-82). In 1980-81, he helped lead Winthrop to a school-record 31 victories. He currently ranks 13th on the Winthrop career scoring list with 1,193 points, and holds the distinction as playing and starting the most games in school history with 39 in 1980-81. He also ranks among Winthrop’s top 10 career list in seven categories (best field goal percentage, games played, minutes played, rebounds, blocked shots, free throws made, and free throws attempted), and is in the top 10 single season list in four categories (best field goal percentage, minutes played, free throws attempted, and blocked shots).

Taryn Surbaugh
Surbaugh was voted the 2006 Big South Conference volleyball Player of the Year and MVP of the conference tournament. She helped lead Winthrop to four straight Big South Conference Championships and four NCAA Tournament appearances (2003-2006). She was a two-time Big South first team All-Conference selection (2005 and 2006), and was a second team selection in 2004. In 2003, she was voted to the Big South All-Freshman Team. She currently ranks first on the Winthrop career attack percentage list (.367) and is first in career block assists (538). In addition to those rankings, she is among the Winthrop career top 10 list in four other categories (games played, total attacks, kills, and block solos). She also ranks in the single season top 10 list in two categories (attack percentage and total block assists).

Pierre Wooten
Wooten was a member of four Big South Conference Championship basketball teams and was the starting point guard on three of those teams (2000, 2001, and 2002). He was a member of Winthrop’s first team to appear in the NCAA Tournament (1999). In 2002, Wooten was voted MVP of the Big South Championship Tournament and in 2003 was voted Big South Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year. He currently ranks seventh on the Winthrop career lists for assists (375) and free throws made (277), and is eighth for free throws attempted (399). Following graduation, he played professionally in Europe from 2003 until 2013.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211