Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


CVPA Faculty, Students Garner Most MTA Nominations in School History

Quick Facts

 Faculty, students and alums from the College of Visual and Performing Arts racked up more than 10 nominations in numerous categories.
 Jill O'Neill and Maggie Monahan '06 took home awards.

ROCK HILL, S.C. — Winthrop University faculty and staff in the Department of Theatre and Dance racked up the most nominations in school history at the 10th Annual Metrolina Theatre Association (MTA) Awards this month.

Winners were announced Oct. 6. Instructor of Music Jill O’Neill won an Outstanding Sound Design Award for her work on Shakespeare Carolina’s “Hamlet" while Maggie Monahan '06 won for her role in the Rock Hill Community Theatre's "I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change."

Student nominees were:
• Outstanding Lead Actor-Female: Ann Marie Calabro '13 for her portrayal of Diwata in “Speech and Debate”
• Outstanding Supporting Actor-Male: student Ryan Carter for his role Lorenzo in “Melancholy Play”
• Outstanding Supporting Actor-Female: Cecily Bigham '13 for Frances, also in “Melancholy Play”
• Outstanding Cameo and Outstanding Original Musical Composition: Theatre major Leah Smith (York, S.C.) for “Melancholy Play”
• Outstanding Choreography: Theatre major Erik Brower (Summerville, S.C.) and dance major Sarah Fetner (Atlanta, Ga.) for “Melancholy Play” and “Speech and Debate,” respectively
• Outstanding Supporting Actor-Female: Maggie Monahan '06 for "I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change" at the Rock Hill Community Theatre

Faculty nominees in the Regional South category included:

• Outstanding Lead Actor-Male: Dean David Wohl for his role as Joe foster in “Becky’s New Car” at the Fort Mill Community Playhouse
• Outstanding Supporting Actor-Male: Department of Music’s Jimmy Chrismon playing himself in the Rock Hill Community Theatre’s “I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change”
• Outstanding Direction: Facilities manager/technical director Chris O’Neill for Shakespeare Carolina’s “Hamlet”
• Outstanding Sound Design and Outstanding Musical Direction/Conducting: Lecturer Jill O’Neill, also for “Hamlet”

MTA represents more than 60 organizations along with theatrical artists, directors and producers in the Charlotte area. The awards recognize “outstanding performances and creative elements” in various categories: drama, comedy, musical, three regional divisions and a special event section. Nominees are selected by MTA nominators who are also members of the organization.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211