Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Twenty Winthrop Retirees and 54 Employees Recognized for Service

Quick Facts

 Twenty Winthrop retirees and 54 university employees were honored for their service at the annual Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony.
 The honored retirees have collectively provided nearly 350 years of service to the state of South Carolina and Winthrop.

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Twenty Winthrop University retirees and 54 university employees were honored on Tuesday, April 23, during the annual Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony for service to the university and the state of South Carolina.

The honored retirees have collectively provided nearly 350 years of service to the state of South Carolina and Winthrop. Those retirees included:

David Beatty, design
Christine Fisher, Arts in Basic Curriculum Project
Kent Foster, computer science and quantitative methods
Kenneth Gordon, world languages and cultures
Ron Green, social work
Susan Green, curriculum and pedagogy
Lynn Harand, College of Arts and Sciences
Barbara Heinemann, world languages and cultures
Cecile Leung, world languages and cultures
Wayne Long, facilities management
Leroy Lowery, facilities management
Linda McAliley, human resources
Paula Moore, facilities design and development
Jason Murphy, campus police
Susanne Okey, counseling, leadership and educational studies
Glenn Savage, Controller's Office
Tesfa Sebhatu, Dacus Library
Jean Wells, Dacus Library
Glenn Wood, accounting, finance and economics
Mary Beth Young, theatre and dance

Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20- and 30-year state service milestones. Those employees included:

10 Years
Nicole Caldwell, finance and business
Rick Chacon, sociology and anthropology
Rory Cornish, history
Sylvia Cureton, facilities management
Jennifer Disney, political science
Chlotia Garrison, computer science and quantitative methods
Janet Graham, Small Business Development Center
Tracy Hildreth, Controller's Office
Lindsey Hill, International Center
T.J. Hyatt, payroll
Michell Jaworski, residence life
Natalie Jeter, graduate school
Wes Love, facilities management
Bethany Marlowe, student affairs
Linda Mason, psychology
Alice McLaine, physical education, sport and human performance
Paula Moore, facilities design and development
Anne Olsen, computer science and quantitative methods
Ron Parks, music
Pam Purser, facilities management
Guy Reel, mass communication
Tim Riginos, athletics
Scott Rockholt, campus police
Kwabena Sankofa-Amammere, counseling services
Bobbie Schreiner, athletics
Susie Shealey, facilities management
Robert Stonebraker, economics
Catherine Stringfellow, facilities management
Marty Trader, facilities management
Leon Williams, facilities management
Matt Wisham, facilities management
Bradley Witzel, counseling and leadership studies

20 Years
Gary Alderman, psychology
Robin Belton, facilities management
Dennis Blancke, facilities management
Irene Boland, chemistry, physics and geology
Janice Chism, biology
Kathryn Holten, university advancement
Boyd Jones, student affairs
Lars Larsen, Richard W. Riley College of Education
Barbara Mayes, purchasing
Norma McDuffie, English
Delores McKnight, facilities management
Pedro Munoz, world languages and cultures
Ian Pearson, music
Lou Pantuosco, accounting, finance and economics
Chris Rousseau, facilities management
Jonatha Vare, curriculum and pedagogy
Tony Warren, facilities management

30 Years
Anna Burris, Macfeat Early Childhood Laboratory School
Peggy Hager, College of Business Administration
Cheryl Hingle, University College
Teresa Justice, Sponsored Programs and Research
Louise Mickle, admissions

Retirees are encouraged to participate in the Winthrop Retirees' Association. Information regarding the association may be obtained from Mickey Taylor at

For more information, please contact Judy Longshaw, news and media services manager, at 803/323-2404 or e-mail

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211