Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Music Students Chosen For Intercollegiate Band

Quick Facts

 The band performance is March 20-23 at a conference in Greensboro.
 This was a record year for applicants, in terms of numbers.

ROCK HILL, S.C. — Five Winthrop University music students have been accepted into the 2013 College Band Directors National Association Intercollegiate Band, resulting in a performance at the organization’s national convention in Greensboro, N.C., March 20-23.

The five students are:

Joshua Artz, clarinet, junior music education major, student of Deborah Loomer;
Stephen McFall, oboe, junior music education major, student of Hollis Ulaky;
Christopher Mitchell, baritone saxophone, senior music education major, student of Phil Thompson;
Phillip Loftis, euphonium, senior music education major, student of Sarita Maxwell;
Zachary Miller, percussion, graduate percussion performance student, student of Michael Williams.

The mission of the intercollegiate band is to give music students the opportunity to perform high-quality literature at a national conference under a renowned instructor and experience an unforgettable musical moment. This year’s conductor will be Craig Kirchhoff of the University of Minnesota.

The organization received a record number of applications this year. The five students were chosen from music students nationwide.

For more information contact the Department of Music at 803/323-2255.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211