Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Five Alumni to Be Honored During 2011 Homecoming/Alumni Reunion Celebration

Quick Facts

 This year’s 2011 Alumni Award winners will be honored during a Nov. 12 brunch.
 Tickets for the brunch/awards ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 12, are now available for purchase at for $15.

ROCK HILL, S.C. - During November’s combined Homecoming and Alumni Reunion Celebration festivities, five alumni will receive top accolades for their service and professional achievements as Winthrop University graduates.

This year’s 2011 Alumni Award winners, who will be honored during a Nov. 12 brunch, are:

Vivian Moore Carroll ’73, Alumni Distinguished Service Award – Carroll, of Charlotte, N.C., is immediate past president of the Winthrop University Alumni Association, a member of the Blue Line Society, a Foundation Board member and a co-chair for Distinction: The Campaign for Winthrop. She also has served on numerous alumni committees. Carroll’s community service work includes several boards in Charlotte, including the American Red Cross and the Metropolitan YMCA, as well as service at Providence Baptist Church.

Dr. Andrew “Andy” Wilson ’96, Alumni Professional Achievement Award – The Atlanta, Ga., resident is assistant dean for campus life and director of residence life at Emory University. Wilson serves on the Winthrop Fund Board and is a member of the Blue Line Society. He is in the process of helping establish an affinity group for Winthrop graduates who went on to serve in student affairs careers. During his time at Winthrop, Wilson was a resident advisor, an orientation leader, a peer mentor, a Winthrop Ambassador and a participant in Model United Nations. He also was a member of the Interfraternity Council as well as the Wesley Foundation and was in a fraternity.

Meghan Terry ’04, ’06, Outstanding Young Alumni Award – Terry, of Taylors, S.C., works as assistant public defender in the Seventh Judicial Circuit Public Defender Office in Spartanburg, S.C. Terry is a regular contributor to the Winthrop Fund and serves as an affinity group contact for her sorority. At Winthrop, she was a Close Scholar and a member of the Student Alumni Council, the former Dinkins Student Union program board and the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. In addition, Terry was a recipient of an Alumni Association scholarship.

Laura Manheim Hewitt ’61, Mary Mildred Sullivan Award – President and reunion chair for the Class of 1961, Hewitt, of Charleston, S.C., is a former member of the Winthrop Foundation Board, a former member of the Charleston, S.C.-area alumni steering committee and a current member of the Blue Line Society. She participated in Winthrop’s first capital campaign, A Lasting Achievement – The Campaign for Winthrop. Hewitt has received the Alumni Distinguished Service Award, the Lowcountry Philanthropy Award and the Free Enterprise Foundation Award for Ethics & Civic Responsibility. She has served on numerous boards and committees in S.C.

Karl A. Folkens ’78, Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Folkens, a member of the Board of Trustees and the D.B. Johnson Society, was the first male president of the Winthrop Alumni Association. The Florence, S.C., resident is a former Foundation Board member and has attained the Cum Laude Giving Distinction. Folkens has received the Alumni Distinguished Service Award and is listed currently in The Best Lawyers in America and South Carolina Super Lawyers.

The Sullivan awards recognize alumni for selfless dedication of time, energy and talent in service to others.

Tickets for the brunch/awards ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 12, are now available for purchase at $15.

For more information about the ceremony or the 2011 Alumni Awards, contact the Office of Alumni Relations at 803/323-2145 or

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211