Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header

McNair Scholars

Advisory Board

2017-18 Winthrop McNair Advisory Board Members

We are grateful for the time our Board members invest in choosing each cohort, advising Program Staff, and supporting the program. Advisory Board members are listed below along with each member’s affiliation.

  • Dr. Takita Sumter - Professor, Chemistry, Physics, & Geology, will reduce her engagement in Board activities this year to focus on her service as Interim Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences. Dr. Jason Hurlbert has graciously agreed to serve in her place this year.

The Board and Program Staff are grateful for the valuable contributions of faculty who have served on the Board in past years, including Drs. Nick Grossoehme (CHEM), Heather Evans-Anderson (BIOL), Joe Rusinko (MATH), Kareema Gray (SCWK), Tenisha Powell (ECED), and Shebby Neely-Goodwin (SCWK).

Similarly, an eligible student representative (our first year) and outstanding Scholars have provided important guidance in recruitment, selection, and program planning as members of the Advisory Board. Those students are

  • Nicole McMullen     2016-17
  • Ashley Causey       2015-16
  • Sarah Wicks           2014-15
  • Symone Calhoun    2013-14
  • Ronald Nelson        2012-13
  • Macreshia Salters   2011-12
  • Alfred McLeod        2010-11
  • Lilah Campbell       2009-10
© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211