Winthrop University: About Accessibility

Office of Accessibility


Mission
The Office of Accessibility (OA) works to ensure that students with disabilities have an equal
opportunity to participate fully in their educational experience by facilitating accommodations, discourse, and engagement. 

Vision
OA aims to empower Winthrop students toward self-advocacy, independence, and personal responsibility while providing disability-related education and guidance to the Winthrop community.

Values
Inclusion, Empowerment, Integrity
 

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 is civil rights legislation that upholds and extends Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Title II of the ADA states: No qualified individual with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of the services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity (42 USC 12132).

The faculty and staff of Winthrop University are committed to providing educational opportunities to all students. The Office of Accessibility (OA) serves as a liaison between students with disabilities and the Winthrop community to ensure full access to programs and services.


Meet Our Staff


Christopher Keck, MA, CRC
Program Director
keckc@winthrop.edu

Shardae Nelson
Assistant Coordinator
nelsons@winthrop.edu

Hope Williams
Administrative Specialist
williamsh@winthrop.edu

Karen Medlin
Test Center Operations Manager
medlink@winthrop.edu

Samantha Barrett
Test Center Assistant
barretts@winthrop.edu


Contact Us

Office of Accessibility
307 Bancroft Hall (Annex)
Rock Hill, SC 29733

Summer Hours
:
Monday-Thursday, 8:00 AM - 5:30pm
Friday 8:00am – 11:30pm


Fall/Spring Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8:30am - 5:00pm
Friday: 9:30am - 4:00pm


Call
: 803/323-3290 (V/TDD).
Fax: 803/323-4585
Emailaccessibility@winthrop.edu

Last Updated: 7/3/19