Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header

Winthrop Foundation

Board of Directors

The Foundation Board of Directors is composed of alumni and friends of Winthrop University. The officers are the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Executive Director of the Foundation is responsible for the Foundation's daily operations.

The Winthrop University President, Vice President for University Advancement, Executive Director of the Foundation, Chair of the Board of Trustees, Chair of the Committee on Institutional Advancement, Executive Director of Alumni Relations and Annual Giving, and the Chair of the Annual Giving Advisory Council all serve as non-voting ex officio directors. Automatic Directors include the President, President Elect and Finance Chairman of the Winthrop University Alumni Association.

2017 WUF Board

Back row (L to R): Gary Williams; Lee Gardner; Creighton Hayes; Daniel Mahony; Karl Folkens; David McDonald; Timothy L. Hopkins

 Middle row (L to R): Matt Dosch; Sig Huitt; J. Spratt White; Linda Warner; Mark Carter

Front row (L to R): Robin Embry; Cecelia Dickson Stewart; Terry Grayson-Caprio; Gerald E. Schapiro; Chelsea Brown; R. Sylvester Owens

Not pictured: Robert H. Breakfield; Vivian Carroll; Derick Close; Nancy Donnelly; A. Watts Huckabee; Jan Ivey;
David A. Pennell;
Andy Shene; Ann S. Terry; Lori Tuttle; Mike Whitehead; L. Keith Williams

Please see the full list of Board Member Responsibilities.


  • Andy Shene - President (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Robert H. Breakfield - Vice President (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Mark Carter '06 - Treasurer - (Charlotte, NC)
  • Ann S. Terry - Secretary (Rock Hill, SC)

Board Members

  • Chelsea Brown '14 (Baltimore, MD)
  • Vivian Carroll '73 (Charlotte, NC)
  • Derick Close (Fort Mill, SC)
  • Nancy Donnelly '77 (Weaverville, NC)
  • Matt Dosch (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Terry Grayson-Caprio '85 (Greer, SC)
  • Creighton Hayes (Rock Hill, SC)
  • A. Watts Huckabee '89 (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Sig Huitt (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Jan Ivey '84 (Charlotte, NC)
  • Peter Moroni '07, '09 (Fort Mill, SC)
  • R. Sylvester Owens '03, '06 (Washington, DC)
  • Dr. Sue Rex (Winnsboro, SC)
  • Gerald E. Schapiro (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Arch Anna Steadham '84 (Greenville, SC)
  • J. Spratt White IV (Fort Mill, SC)
  • Mike Whitehead '87 (Charlotte, NC)
  • Margaret Wicklund '82 (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Gary Williams (Rock Hill, SC)

Ex Officio Members – Non-Voting

Ex Officio Members – Voting

  • David McDonald '01 - President of the Winthrop University Alumni Association (Greenville, SC)
  • Byron Putman '94- President-elect of the Winthrop University Alumni Association (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Linda Knox Warner '80 - Finance Chairman of the Winthrop University Alumni Association (Rock Hill, SC)

Key Messages

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211