Winthrop University: College of Visual and Performing Arts - Faculty and Staff Directory
Contact Information
College of Visual and Performing Arts
133 McLaurin Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-2333 (fax)

College of Visual and Performing Arts

Faculty and Staff Directory


Karen Oremus - Interim Dean; Professor of Fine Arts
Lorrie Crochet - Associate Dean; Director, Graduate Studies; Professor of Music
Caroline Rust Ward - Executive Assistant to the Dean, Administrative Coordinator 
Anna FredericksDirector, Student Services; Instructor 
Lauren Taylor Grad - Director, Communications


Arts Administration Program

Robert Wildman - Director, Arts Administration Programs; Associate Professor
Janet Brown - Adjunct Faculty
Brenda Floyd - Adjunct Faculty
Eric Gershman - Adjunct Faculty
Gary Guffey - Adjunct Faculty
Marion Koltun - Adjunct Faculty
Cathy Rumble - Adjunct Faculty
Shay Wafer - Adjunct Faculty
David Wohl Adjunct Faculty
Joy YoungAdjunct Faculty


Arts in Basic Curriculum (ABC) Institute 

Kim Wilson - Director
Kelly Hall - Programs Specialist

Emily Prado - Programs Specialist

Cheryl Taylor - Business Operations Manager


Department of Design

Design Faculty

Jason Tselentis - Chair; Professor of Design
Chad Dresbach - Associate Professor of Design
Elizabeth Dulemba - Associate Professor of Design
Thomas Garner - Instructor of Design

Tamara LaValla - Instructor of Design
Kathryn Nicholson - Assistant Professor of Design

Sangwon Sohn - Associate Professor of Design
Jason Tselentis - Professor of Design


Adjunct Faculty

Deborah Dunlap - Adjunct Faculty of Design

Quintel Gwinn - Adjunct Faculty of Design
Kyahdric Moses - Adjunct Faculty of Design

Elizabeth Schwerman - Adjunct Faculty of Design
Ralph Voltz - Adjunct Faculty of Design
Jesse Weser - Adjunct Faculty of Design

Brad Young - Adjunct Faculty of Design


Design Staff

Amanda Foshag - Administrative Assistant


Department of Fine Arts

Fine Arts Faculty

Mark Hamilton - Interim Chair; Professor of Fine Arts
Alice BurmeisterAssociate Professor of Fine Arts
Myles Calvert - Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
Shaun Cassidy
- Professor of Fine Arts
James Connell - Professor of Fine Arts
Stacey Davidson - Associate Professor of Fine Arts
Mark Hamilton - Professor of Fine Arts
Michelle Aaron Livek - Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
Claudia O'Steen - Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
Seth Rouser - Associate Professor of Fine Arts
Karen Stock - Professor of Fine Arts
Stephanie Sutton - Assistant Professor of Fine Arts
Kyle G. Sweeney - Assistant Professor of Fine Arts


Fine Arts Adjunct Faculty

Samantha Rosado - Adjunct Faculty of Fine Arts (Foundations)

Emily Tuttle - Adjunct Faculty of Fine Arts (Art History)

Alfred Ward - Adjunct Faculty of Fine Arts (Jewelry & Metals)


Fine Arts Staff

Andrew Davis - Fine Arts Technician; Instructor

Amanda Foshag - Administrative Assistant

Bethany Salisbury - Graduate Assistant of Fine Arts


Department of Music

Music Faculty

Elisa Koehler - Chair; Professor of Music
Lorrie Crochet - Professor of Music; Director of Bands; Music Education Coordinator
Tomoko Deguchi - Professor of Music; Music Theory Area Coordinator
L.H. Dickert, Jr. - Professor of Music (Guitar)
Justin Isenhour - Associate Professor of Music; Brass Area Coordinator (Trombone)
Leonard Mark Lewis - Professor of Music (Composition)
Matthew Manwarren - Professor of Music; Piano Area Coordinator
Julia McCallum - Instructor of Music Education; Music Education Coordinator

Jeffrey McEvoy - Associate Professor of Music; Director of Opera Program
Jeremy Mims - Associate Professor of Music; Director of Choirs
Ronald Parks - Professor of Music (Composition and Music Technology)
Tracy Patterson - Associate Professor of Music; Woodwind Area Coordinator (Saxophone)
Ian Pearson - Professor of Music (Music History)
Douglas Presley - Professor of Music; Associate Director of Bands; Percussion Area Coordinator
Kristen Wonderlich - Associate Professor of Music (Voice); Area Coordinator of Voice


Music Adjunct Faculty

Craig Allen - Adjunct Faculty (Voice)
Lannia Bronola-Dickert - Adjunct Faculty (Piano)
Elizabeth Burns - Adjunct Faculty (Cello)
Matthew Darsey - Adjunct Faculty (Viola)
Amanda Sesler Davis - Adjunct Faculty (Voice)
Derek Fenstermacher - Adjunct Faculty (Tuba, Euphonium)
Kari Giles - Adjunct Faculty (Violin)
Jennifer Kempka - Adjunct Faculty (Piano)
Deborah Loomer - Adjunct Faculty (Clarinet)
Jill O'Neill - Adjunct Faculty (Flute)
Robert Rydel - Adjunct Faculty (Horn)
Hollis Ulaky - Adjunct Faculty (Oboe)
David Vergato - Adjunct Faculty (Bass)
Ashley West-Davis - Adjunct Faculty (Voice)
Marisa Youngs - Adjunct Faculty (Trumpet)


Music Staff

Anna Rzepka - Administrative Assistant
Christopher O'Neill - Technical Director / Facilities Manager


Music Ensemble Directors

Bands - Lorrie Crochet, Douglas Presley
Choirs - Jeremy Mims
Jazz Ensembles - Tracy Patterson, L.H. Dickert, Jr.
Opera - Jeffrey McEvoy
Orchestra - Elisa Koehler
Steel Drums - Douglas Presley


Department of Theatre and Dance

Theatre and Dance Faculty

Daniel Gordon - Chair; Professor of Theatre
Zinorl Broñola - Instructor of Theatre & Dance 
Robert Biff Edge
- Assistant Professor of Theatre
Janet Gray - Professor of Theatre
Stephen Gundersheim - Professor of Theatre
Marvin McAllister - Associate Professor of Theatre
Sandra Neels - Associate Professor of Dance
Kelly Ozust - Associate Professor of Dance
Meg Schriffen - Associate Professor of Dance, Director of Dance Program
Gabrielle Tull - Assistant Professor of Dance
John P. Woodey - Visiting Professor of Theatre & Dance


Theatre and Dance Adjunct Faculty

Chris Brown - Adjunct Faculty of Theatre
Anna Edwards - Adjunct Faculty of Dance
Ben Kubie - Adjunct Faculty of Dance
Cheralyn Lambeth - Costume Shop Supervisor
Lauren Suflita Skrabalak - Adjunct Faculty of Dance


Theatre and Dance Staff

Ramona Kundl - Administrative Assistant


CVPA Emeriti Faculty

Eugene M. Barban, Professor of Music
Janice Bradner, Instructor of Music
G. David Brown, Associate Professor of Design
Jess Casey, Professor of Music
Peg De Lamater, Associate Professor of Art and Design
Laura Dufresne, Professor of Fine Arts
Robert A. Edgerton, Professor of Music
A. David Franklin, Professor of Music

Elda E. Franklin, Professor of Music
David L. Freeman, Professor of Fine Arts

Laura GardnerProfessor of Fine Arts
Lorraine C. Gorrell, Professor of Music
W. Martin Hughes, Professor of Music

Alan M. Huston, Associate Professor of Art and Design
Katherine Kinsey, Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities

David M. Lowry, Professor of Music
Joanne M. Lunt, Professor of Dance

Roy V. Magers, Assistant Professor of Music
William Malambri, Professor of Music

Paul Martyka, Associate Professor Emeritus, Fine Arts
Jean A. McFarland, Associate Professor of Art and Design

Mary R. Mintich, Professor of Art 

Marge Moody, Professor of Fine Arts
Phil Moody, Professor of Fine Arts
Clara Paulino, Associate Professor of Fine Arts
Donald M. Rogers, Associate Professor of Music  
Anna Sartin, Associate Professor of Theatre
Curtis C. Sherman, Professor of Art and Design
Seymour Simmons, Professor of Fine Arts

Tom Stanley, Professor and Chair of Fine Arts
Bruce A. Thompson, Professor of Music

Phil A. Thompson, Professor of Music
Andrew Vorder Bruegge, Professor of Theatre
Robert J. Walden, Professor and Chair of Art and Design

Alfred D. Ward, Professor and Chair of Art and Design
Annie-Laurie Wheat, Professor of Theatre
B. Michael Williams, Professor of Music and Director of the Percussion Program

David Wohl, Professor of Theatre and Dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts
Mary Beth Young, Associate Professor of Dance

Last Updated: 10/27/22