Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header

Student Services


The College of Arts and Sciences offers several scholarships that are available for application during spring semester for the following academic year. Academically eligible students were emailed an application link on March 1, 2017.

Scholarships and Criteria – Academic Year:  2017-18

Lisa Hudson Evans Endowed Scholarship - Political Science major with financial need. 

John Guilbeau Scholarship - Rising junior or senior or beginning graduate student; proficiency in foreign language and interest in the humanities; financial need. 

H. Scot Heavner Scholarship- Upperclassman; financial need; academic excellence; seeking teaching certificate and coaching. 

Stewart Haas Memorial Restricted Scholarship - Mass Communication major; emphasis in print; renewable to rising junior or senior who maintains a 3.0 GPA.

Janice Chastain Houk Endowed Fund - Award to be split equally between one student involved in undergraduate research in biology and one in undergraduate research in political science. 

Father David Valtierra Peace Studies Scholarship – Student must be a declared peace, justice, and conflict resolution studies minor; rising junior or senior; 3.0 GPA or higher.  Eligible students need to submit a 500 word essay, “How you will integrate your studies in peace, justice, and conflict resolution into your future.”

Jefferson Pilot Communications Scholarship – A merit based scholarship awarded to a Mass Communication major.

Betty Freeman Hinman Endowed Scholarship – Math major; first preference to female students of at least junior standing, 3.0 overall GPA, 3.25 MATH GPA.  

Ellen Rasor Wylie Mathematics Scholarship – Provide scholarship to Mathematics majors; candidates should show academic merit and good character.  At least a 3.0 overall and at least 3.5 GPA in Mathematics coursework.

Lawrence D. Joiner Scholarship Fund – To provide scholarship for rising juniors or seniors for travel abroad to study or do research in the humanities.  Special consideration given to those studying and researching in foreign language and literature.    

Fred Hembree History Scholarship – To provide scholarship for junior or senior students with strong academic records who are majoring in History.  Preference given to students who intend to pursue graduate studies in History, students with financial need, and students who are from an area within a sixty mile radius of campus.  

Theresa Pittman Jackson – To provide academic support and enrichment opportunities to students within the Department of Mathematics.

Landrum Layton – Human Nutrition major financial need.

Kate Wofford – CAS major; may be divided.  Known as “the scholar’s scholarship.”

Helen K. Bussell – Rising female senior with superior scholastic record majoring in Modern Languages.

Dorothy Jones Women’s Studies Award – To award $250 each semester by the Women’s Studies Committee to an upperclassman enrolled that semester, with preference given to Women Studies minors.  Recipients should demonstrate academic merit and financial need and sophomore standing or above.

Luckett V. Davis Biology Restricted Scholarship Fund – To provide scholarships for students majoring in Biology.  The scholarship is renewable to upperclassmen who maintain a 3.0 grade point average.

Elrod Annual Restricted Scholarship – To provide scholarships to students who are juniors or seniors and majoring in History or Social Studies, who intend to become teachers.  Candidates should have a GPA of 3.25 or higher and preference should be given to students who are first generation college students.

Sociology Merit Scholarship – To provide financial support for outstanding students majoring in Sociology.

Dalton Environmental Studies and Sciences Fund – To provide scholarships for Environmental Studies and related sciences.  

CAS Student Services
106 Kinard Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-2347 (fax)
E-mail Us
WingspanAcademic CalendarsAdobe Reader 2
© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211