Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Departmental News and Announcements

Upcoming Course Descriptions

Congratulations to Our Graduates!

At the Spring Commencements, a distinguished group of students completed their degrees. These included Joseph Henderson, Dylan Phillips, and Erin Sharpe, who received their M.A. degrees, and Erika Patterson and Sarah Zion, who completed M.A.T. in English degrees. Catherine Zende and Adam Uzzell completed B.S. in Science Communication degrees, and the following students completed B.A. in English degrees: Nicole Abbot, Jessica Barber, Stephanie Bartlett, Sally Beeson, Heather Broad, Patrick Bryant, Stephen Crawford, Cayla Eagon, Kim Farrier, Tynisha Ferguson, Brittany Glover, Crystal Knappenberger, Stella Kwak, Adam Lamberts, Alexandria Matheny, Amanda Mayer, Morey Reinblatt, Victoria Smith, Holly Spangler, Jade Stuckey, Edward Szeman, Joanna Tepper, Lauren Thompson, and Kathryne Wiseman. (If we missed you, let us know!!!)


Faculty Members Receive Recognition

The last week of April was an outstanding week for English Department faculty members. Professor Amy Gerald (ENGE) was promoted to the rank Associate Professor with tenure, and Professor Gregg Hecimovich (Chair) was promoted to the rank Full Professor with tenure.Please congratulate these two members of the Department on their well-deserved achievements! And Professor Jo Koster, Director of Graduate Studies, was announced as the 2012 winner of the Jane LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award for  outstanding teaching at the graduate level and significant contributions to graduate education at Winthrop. Please congratulate her when you see her! 

Hurley Fellowships Awarded for 2012-13

The two students who will receive the Geraldine Trammell Hurley Fellowships are Mirielle Smith and Lauren Clark.  Mirielle is planning to travel and study in England this summer, especially London and Wales.  Her research will focus on nursery rhymes and British folk tales, including Welsh oral traditions.  Lauren will be using her award to enroll in classes in Dublin in Spring 2013 to study Irish Literature, and she has planned some additional travel and enrichment. Please congratulate these students when you see them!

Undergraduate Research Celebration

On Saturday, April 21, Winthrop honored its undergraduate students who have participated in undergraduate research this year. Senior Cayla Eagon, an English major, received the Inez Bell Caskey Award for scholarship in the Humanities, and senior Allison Howard, an English minor, received the Inez Bell Caskey Award for scholarship in Social Sciences. At the Honors Colloquium, senior Catherine Zende, a science communication major, and senior Edward Szeman, and English major, presented their research projects. Also honored as student scholars were Shelby Borders, Patrick Bryant, Ashley Mellon, Crystal Knappenberger, Miri Smith, Alex Muller, Josh Dunn, Stephanie Bartlett, Raven Gadsden, Joanna Tepper, Stephen Crawford, Alexandria Matheny, Aaron Everhart, Bethany Geddings, Jessica Richardson, Brianna Sanders, Kim Farrier, Mary Stevenson, Sally Beeson, and Joseph Giordano. Department members Leslie Bickford, John Bird, Siobhan Brownson, Casey Cothran, Jack DeRochi, Matt Fike, Amy Gerald, Gregg Hecimovich, Jo Koster, Cynthia Macri, Marguerite Quintelli-Neary, Kelly Richardson, Jane Smith, and Evelyne Weeks were recognized as Faculty Mentors. 

Sigma Tau Delta Initiates New Members 

The Iota Mu Chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the national honor society for English majors and lovers of literature and writing,  initiated nine new members on April 22nd. The new members are Hana Baron, Josh Dunn, Bethany Geddings, Katie Horrigan, Stella Kwak, Kristy Meehan, Rachel Phillips, Miri Smith, and Mary Stephenson. Please congratulate them when you see them! At the initiation ceremony, a reading was provided by Prof. Evelyne Weeks of poems from her new collection The Battle.

The Iota Mu chapter is an active and visible chapter of this national honor society; at this year's conference in New Orleans, six students presented their research and creative work, and two students, Cayla Eagon and Erin Sharpe, had essays published in this year's national volume of the Sigma Tau Delta Review. For more information on Sigma Tau Delta, please check out 

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211