Winthrop University: ArtsWinthrop - Events - Theatre & Dance
Contact Information
Arts at Winthrop
112 McLaurin Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733
803/323-2399
803/323-2333 (fax)

Arts at Winthrop

Events

Theatre & Dance

Purchase Tickets Here

 

Musical Theatre Workshop Presents: Solo Performance
Virtual production through www.ShowTix4u.com 
Friday, November 13 through Sunday, November 15 at various times
Tickets: $5

What good is sitting alone in your room?  Come hear the music play with eleven solo performance cabaret shows.  Each "show" is as individual as the student performing and features personal stories and unique interpretations of song lyrics.  Each performance runs approximately 25 minutes.  

 

Student-Directed Fall One-Act Festival 
Virtual production through www.ShowTix4u.com 
Saturday, November 14 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 15 at 2 p.m.
Tickets:  $3 with Winthrop ID/$5 general public/$10 family
Purchase Tickets Here

A lively, entertaining and eclectic mix of one-act plays directed by advanced theatre students.
This production contains mature content language and is not suitable for children.

 

Senior Choreography Showcase
Virtual production through www.ShowTix4u.com 
Friday and Saturday, November 20-21 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, November 22 at 2 p.m.
Tickets $3 with Winthrop ID/$5 general public/$10 for a family
Purchase Tickets Here

A showcase of modern dance films featuring the choreographic talents of senior dance majors. 

 

The Swing of the Sea

By Molly Hagen
Virtual production through www.ShowTix4u.com 
Thursday, February 11 through Saturday, February 13, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 14 at 2 p.m.
Johnston Studio Theatre
Tickets:  $5 

Boots, a girl who wears yellow rain boots even when it's not raining, and a boy called Eggs take a journey through memory and imagination following the sudden death of their friend, Peter.  As Eggs dreams of asking Boots to the upcoming Favorites Dance, Boots loses herself in a world of fallen leaves, consumed by her quest to remember the last words Peter said to her before he died.  The Swing of the Sea is a play about growing old without aging that examines the way fantasy and memory converge.  


TBA
Thursday, February 18 through Saturday, February 20, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, February 21 at 2 p.m.
Special outreach performance Friday, February 19 at 10 a.m.  
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $10 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public.
Reserved Seating

 

What to Do When You Hate All Your Friends, An Anti-Social Comedy
by Larry Kunofsky
Thursday, April 1 through Saturday, April 3, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 3 at 2:00 p.m.
Virtual production through Broadway on Demand
Tickets:  $5

Matt is a guy who hates all his friends. Celia is a woman at the center of The Friends, a secret group that has perfected friendship through special rules and a rigid ranking system. Can a guy who hates all his friends and a woman who needs friendship to go by-the-book figure out  a way to spend time together without going mental? Adult Language and Content.  

 

TBA
Thursday, April 7 through Saturday, April 10, 2021 at 7:30 p.m. 
Sunday, April 11 at 2 p.m.
Live performance at Winthrop Amphitheatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public

 

Student-Directed Spring One-Act Festival
Friday, April 16 through Saturday, April 17, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 17 and Sunday, April 18 at 2 p.m.
Virtual production through www.Tix4u.com  
Tickets: $5 

A lively and entertaining and eclectic mix of one-act plays directed by advanced theatre students. This production contains mature content and language and is not suitable for children. 


Spring Dance Showcase
Friday, April 23 and Saturday, April 24, 2021 at 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, April 25 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public. 
Reserved Seating

An evening of selected works by students, faculty, and guest artists.  Come see an eclectic showcase of the best of the year's dancing in the Department of Theatre and Dance.  A variety of dance styles will be featured including ballet, contempoary, jazz, tap, and musical theatre.  

Last Updated: 11/2/20