Winthrop University Home Page
ABOUTADMISSIONS & AIDACADEMICSSTUDENT LIFEATHLETICSGIVING
Menu Header

Arts at Winthrop

Events

Theatre & Dance

Student Works Series

Senior Choreography Showcase
Friday, December 1 and Saturday, December 2 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, December 3 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public 

Precious Little
by Madeleine George
Directed by Phylisha Mace
Wednesday, February 7 through Saturday, February 10, 2018 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, February 11, 2018 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: Wednesday and Thursday $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public; Friday through Sunday $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public

Brodie, a gifted linguist, learns unsettling news about the baby she carries. Unable to get comfort from her girlfriend, she finds it in the two least likely sources imaginable: the elderly speaker of a vanishing language... and a gorilla at the zoo. Madeleine George's irreverent and charming new play reveals the beauty and limits of the human language. *Strong language, mild adult themes*

Ragtag Theatre's Rapunzel
Book, Music and Lyrics by Sam LaFrage
Directed by Jamie Shinn
Wednesday, March 28 through Saturday, March 31, 2018 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 1, 2018 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: Wednesday and Thursday $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public; Friday through Sunday $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public

Follow the Ragtag Players, a troupe of poor traveling "Italian" actors as they present a hilarious, zany musical romp through a twisted retelling of the fairytale "Rapunzel," done in the style of Commedia dell Arte! Expect the unexpected in this wild night of participatory theatre that is wacky, crazy, fun for the entire family!

Spring One-Act Festival
Friday, April 13 and Saturday, April 14, 2018 at 8 p.m.
Saturday, April 14 and Sunday, April 15, 2018 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public

Student Choreography Showcase
Friday, April 20 and Saturday, April 21, 2018 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 22, 2018 at 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $5 with Winthrop ID/$10 general public

Mainstage Series

Charm
by Kathleen Cahill 
Directed by Nicia Carla
Wednesday, February 14 through Saturday, February 17, 2018 at 8 p.m. 
Sunday, February 18, 2018 at 2 p.m. 
Johnson Theatre 
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public

Told in the style of magical realism, Charm presents the story of the brilliant, but forgotten American writer and feminist Margaret Fuller. Set in an imagined America of the 1840s, the play portrays Margaret's emotional journey from a plain, bookish woman suffering unrequited love for her handsome cousin to the confidant of Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nathaniel Hawthorne and Henry David Thoreau and the New York Times first female war correspondent, writing dispatches from the front lines of the Italian revolution. *Contains some mature language and content*

She Kills Monsters
by Qui Nguyen
Directed by Matt Ferrell
Wednesday, April 4 through Saturday, April 7, 2018 at 8 p.m.
Sunday, April 8, 2018 at 2 p.m. 
Johnson Theatre 
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public 

A comedic romp into the world of fantasy role-playing games. Following the death of her teenage sister, Agnes finds Tilly's Dungeons and Dragons notebook, and stumbles into a journey of discovery and action-packed adventure in the imaginary world that was Tilly's refuge. This high-octane dramatic comedy laden with homicidal fairies, nasty ogres, and 90s pop culture offers a heart-pounding homage to the geek and warrior within us all.

CONTACT INFORMATION
Arts at Winthrop
112 McLaurin Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733
803/323-2399
803/323-3000 (hotline)
803/323-2333 (fax)
FacebookInstagramTwitterYouTubeOnline GiftAdobe Reader 2
IN THE HEART OF THE CAROLINAS
© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211