Tillman Hall

Winthrop University Classroom

athletes with Kallander Cup

University News

The Institute for Educational Renewal and Partnership, first established in 2010, received a new name, The James and Susan Rex Institute for Educational Renewal and Partnership. The renaming honors the couple’s investment in education and generous financial support to the Richard W. Riley College of Education.

The 10th Medal of Honor in the Arts honored the North Carolina Dance Theatre, musician Charles Wadsworth, Charleston Mayor Joe Riley Jr. and Christine Fisher of the Arts in Basic Curriculum Project.

Winthrop moved up in the rankings of the South’s top 10 public universities that convey master’s degrees in the 2012 U.S. News & World Report’s edition of “America’s Best Colleges.” Winthrop placed seventh in the rankings among fellow Southern public institutions that grant bachelor and master’s degrees and tied for 21st among public and private universities. The Princeton Review also named Winthrop among the "Best in the Southeast" in its online edition of "2012 Best Colleges: Region by Region."

Former U.S. Congressman John M. Spratt joined Winthrop as Visiting Distinguished Professor of Public Policy and Leadership with the John C. West Forum on Politics and Policy.

Faculty/Staff Accomplishments

Ken Scoggins, assistant chief of campus police, received an appointment to the 251st Session of the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy.

Susan Green, professor in the Department of Curriculum and Pedagogy with the Richard W. Riley College of Education, earned the 2012 Distinguished Professor of the Year Award. Mark Lewis, an assistant professor in the Department of Music, received the 2012 Outstanding Junior Professor of the Year Award and English Professor Jo Koster received the 2012 Jane LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award. The three faculty members received recognition during May Commencement ceremonies.

Debra Boyd, former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, earned the permanent position of vice president for academic affairs and Kimberly Keel, a former York County and S.C. United Way official, joined Winthrop as vice president for development and alumni relations.

Boyd Jones, director of university programs, received the National Association for Campus Activities’ (NACA) Founders Award, the association’s highest honor.

Merry Sleigh, an associate professor in the Department of Psychology, received the James Pinckney Kinard and Lee Wicker Kinard Award for Excellence in Teaching during the December Undergraduate Commencement ceremony.

David Stokes, an associate professor of design, became the newest Thompson Scholar. He plans to create a set of visual/digital teaching aids that will enhance the Human Experience course, a component of the Touchstone Program and a required course for all students.

Student Achievements

Nick LaFave, an environmental science teacher at Clover High School who is pursuing a master’s degree in curriculum and instruction-educational technology, spent his summer studying wolf spider populations in the Arctic Circle.

Winthrop led all Big South Conference institutions by placing nearly 65 percent of its 210 student-athletes on the conference's Presidential Honor Roll.

Amy Deng and Katherine Clopton received the Tillman Award, the university’s highest academic honor during the May and December Undergraduate Commencement ceremonies, respectively.

Student-athletes earned the Big South Conference Kallander Cup for a fourth consecutive year. The student-athletes completed nearly 3,200 hours of various community service, including a year-long project with the York County Boys and Girls Club.

Matthew Andrews, a senior illustration major, designed a patch for the National Guard’s 178th Engineers Battalion for use on their vehicles, banners and training manuals, among other uses.

The Students in Free Enterprise team (SIFE) won the 2012 Charlotte regional championship for the eighth consecutive year.

The women's tennis team captured the Big South Conference championship. The championship marked the program's fifth straight and the 15th overall conference title. The team also earned All-Academic Team honors by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association and three members received ITA Scholar-Athlete accolades.
Wendy Adams and Katherine "Katie" Zanowski - two social work students - won top honors from the S.C. chapter of the National Association of Social Workers. Adams earned the Master of Social Work Student of the Year Award, while Zanowski received the Bachelor of Social Work Student of the Year Award.

Alexis Clowney, a special education major, earned a spot on Campus Compact's 2012 Class of Newman Civic Fellows.

Everett Johnson and Norman Burt debuted “A Fractured Sanctum,” an original performance conceived and co-directed by Johnson, a dance performance major, and Burt, a theatre performance major. The performance became the first scripted play to be fused with choreographed movement for the Department of Theatre of Dance. As one of only 15 students selected nationally, Johnson earned the Jack Kent Cooke Graduate Arts Award to pursue up to three years of study at an accredited graduate institution. Johnson attends New York University's Tisch School of the Arts where he is pursuing a Master of Fine Arts in choreography/performance.

Matt Horn, a standout member of the men's soccer team, placed as a national finalist for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. He also earned Omicron Delta Kappa National Leader of the Year accolades, and he received the prestigious NCAA Walter Byers Post-Graduate Scholarship and the Big South Conference Graduate Fellowship. He attends the University of North Carolina School of Medicine.

The women's basketball team set 45 school records or 'firsts' en route to an 18-13 winning season.

Joseph Bursey and Lance Graham, both biology majors, discovered a new microscopic flatworm that they named after the late Hannah Floyd ’10.