Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header

About the Office of the Provost

Organization & Responsibilities

Debra Boyd, Provost 

The Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs serves as the chief academic officer of the University and as the second in overall authority, reporting directly to the University President and serving as a member of the President’s senior leadership team.  The deans of the colleges, schools, and the University library report directly to the Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs.  The following University leaders also report to the Provost and serve on the President’s senior leadership team: the Vice President for Finance and Business, the Vice President for Student Life, and the Vice President for Human Resources, Employee Diversity, and Wellness. 

Meg Webber, Vice Provost for Academic Quality and Innovation

As Vice Provost for Academic Quality and Innovation, Meg Webber works to build strategic collaborations across the academic enterprise (particularly among Academic Affairs and the divisions of Enrollment Management, Student Life, Institutional Advancement, and Athletics), spearhead workplace communications from the Provost’s Office, and plan for the continuous improvement of professional development and training for faculty and staff.  Dr. Webber has oversight of the University’s Quality Enhancement Plan (QEP) for SACSCOC, Provost’s Office operations, and academic co-curricular initiatives.

Karen Jones, Vice Provost for Administration

Karen Jones is responsible for academic unit budget oversight and serves as the institutional SACSCOC liaison.  She also oversees Decision Support, Business Intelligence and Data Management, Assessment, and Online Learning. 

Tim Drueke, Assistant Vice President for Curriculum and Program Support

As Assistant Vice President for Curriculum and Program Support, Tim Drueke provides assistance and support services to faculty, program coordinators, and deans in the development of curriculum, as well as related policies and procedures.  Mr. Drueke reviews student requests, issues, and complaints on behalf of the Provost and serves as liaison to senior staff in other divisions in matters involving students.  He has oversight of the Offices of Records and Registration and Academic Space and Scheduling.

 Other Members of Academic Leadership Council

  • Adrienne McCormick, Dean, College of Arts & Sciences 
  • P.N. Saksena, Dean, College of Business Administration
  • Jennie Rakestraw, Dean, College of Education
  • Jeff Bellantoni, Dean, College of Visual & Performing Arts
  • Gloria Jones, Dean, University College
  • Mark Herring, Dean, Library Services
  • Jack DeRochi, Dean, Graduate School
  • Patrice Bruneau, Assistant Vice President, Computing & Information Technology
  • Noreen Gaubatz, Director, Assessment 
  • Terri Wright, Executive Director, Sponsored Programs and Research (SPAR)

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211