Winthrop University Masthead
Search the site or search for people

Six Seniors Given Tillman Award for Academic Excellence

Quick Facts

 At May 6 commencement exercises, six seniors received the Tillman Award.
 The award, established in 1940, is the university's highest academic honor.

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Six graduating seniors received the Tillman Award at Winthrop University’s spring commencement exercises on May 6 at Winthrop Coliseum.

The Tillman Award is the university’s highest academic honor. Established in 1940 to honor former S.C. Governor Benjamin Ryan Tillman, the award recognizes the graduate who has most consistently met the demands of academic excellence.

The Tillman Award winners were: Erica Lynn Devine, an education major from Denver, N.C.; Stephanie Marie Elliott, an education major from Moore, S.C.; Kathryn Patricia Kohl, a biology major from Fort Mill, S.C.; Kyla Jere Thomas, an education major from Union, S.C.; Jennifer Gail Wilkes, an education major from Chapin, S.C.; and Mary Allison Wise, an English major from Clover, S.C.

[Back to Previous Page]

Winthrop Home Page