Image 01 Image 02 Image 03 Image 04 Image 05 Image 06
08/03/2009

Department of Theatre and Dance Announces 2009-10 Schedule

Quick Facts

 Season ticket packages are available for the 2009-10 Department of Theatre and Dance production series.

/uploadedImages/news/Articles/Dance_Theatre.jpg?n=2963
Winthrop Dance Theatre, fall 2008
/uploadedImages/news/Articles/Anything_Goes.jpg?n=4665
"Anything Goes," spring 2009
/uploadedImages/news/Articles/Spring_One-Act_Festival.jpg?n=2100
Spring One-Act Festival, 2009

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Winthrop’s Department of Theatre and Dance will kick off the 2009-10 season this September with “You Can’t Take It with You,” a screwball comedy picked to accompany the 2009 common book, Russell Baker’s Great Depression-era autobiography “Growing Up.” Season ticket packages are available for purchase online.

The 2009-10 Theatre and Dance lineup will include the following productions:

FALL’09

“You Can't Take It With You” by George S. Kaufman and Moss Hart
Directed by Andrew Vorder Bruegge
Tuesday, Sept. 29-Saturday, Oct. 3, 8 p.m.; Sunday, Oct. 4, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public
Seating is reserved; production is part of Winthrop Family Weekend.

“Dog Sees God” by Bert V. Royal
Directed by David Hutto (student director)
Wednesday, Oct. 7-Saturday, Oct. 10, 8 p.m.; Sunday, October 11, 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: Wednesday-Thursday, $5 with Winthrop I.D./$10 general public; Friday-Sunday, $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted after performance begins.   

“The Good Doctor” by Neil Simon
Directed by Jennica Krebs (student director)
Wednesday, Nov. 4-Saturday, Nov. 7, 8 p.m.; Sunday, Nov. 8, 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: Wednesday-Thursday, $5 with Winthrop I.D./$10 general public; Friday-Sunday, $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted. 

Winthrop Dance Theatre
Directed by Mary Beth Young
Wednesday, Nov. 11-Saturday, Nov. 14, 8 p.m.; Sunday, Nov. 15, 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public; K-12 school matinee available
Seating is reserved; production is part of Winthrop’s Homecoming Weekend.

Fall One-Act Play Festival
Friday, Nov. 20, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Nov. 21, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.; Sunday, Nov. 22, 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public 
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted. 

Senior Choreography Showcase
Coordinated by Meg Griffin
Friday, Dec. 4, 8 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 5, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.; Sunday, Dec. 6, 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public

SPRING ’10

“A Streetcar Named Desire” by Tennessee Williams
Directed by Russell Luke
Wednesday, Feb. 17-Saturday, Feb. 20, 8 p.m.; Sunday, Feb. 21, 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public; K-12 school matinee available
Seating is reserved.

“Butterflies Are Free” by Leonard Gershe
Directed by Shannon Plowden (student director)
Wednesday, Feb. 24-Saturday, Feb. 27, 8 p.m.; Sunday, Feb. 29, 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: Wednesday-Thursday, $5 with Winthrop I.D./$10 general public; Friday-Sunday, $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted. 

“The Complete Idiot's Guide to Human Behavior” by Reba Bowens and Aaron Greer
Friday, March 5-Saturday, March 6, 8 p.m.; Sunday, March 7, 2 p.m.
Large Dance Studio (Johnson 235)
FREE
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted. 

“Godspell” by Stephen Schwartz and John-Michael Tebelak
Directed by Stephen Gundersheim
Wednesday, March 31-Saturday, April 3, 8 p.m.; Saturday, April 3, 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $10 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public; K-12 school matinee available
Seating is reserved.

Spring One-Act Play Festival
Friday, April 9, 8 p.m.; Saturday, April 10, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.; Sunday, April 11, 2 p.m.
Johnson Studio Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop I.D./$15 general public
Seating is limited; no late seating will be permitted. 

Student Choreography Showcase
Coordinated by Stephanie Milling
Friday, April 16, 8 p.m.; Saturday, April 17, 2 p.m. and 8 p.m.; Sunday, April 18, 2 p.m.
Johnson Theatre
Tickets: $8 with Winthrop ID/$15 general public

For more information about the 2009-10 season or season ticket packages, visit the Department of Theatre and Dance online or call 803/323-2287.


[Back to Previous Page]