Image 01 Image 02 Image 03 Image 04 Image 05 Image 06
Office of Academic Space and Scheduling

Important Dates & Faculty Governance Calendar

A workgroup was formed in February 2009 to consider the best possible ways to make use of the newly created common meeting times, to be implemented in fall 2009. Among the group's recommendations were: To establish a predictable annual pattern of university-level committee meeting dates in order to facilitate curricular review and to create and maintain a comprehensive academic calendar online to show committee meetings and important registration dates and accreditation deadlines in one easy-to-access place.

2014 - 2015

Months
 
Months
 
January February March
April May June
July August September
October November December

Click Here to View Faculty Governance Meeting Dates by Committee

 

August 2014

August 8, Friday: Last day of B session.

August 15, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

August 13, Wednesday: Last day of D session.

August 18, Monday, 8:30 a.m.-12 p.m.: Academic Leadership Retreat - DiGiorgio Campus Center, Richardson Ballroom

August 18, Monday, 1:30-3:30 p.m: Training Session on Promotion and Tenure - DiGiorgio Campus Center, Richardson Ballroom 

August 19, Tuesday, 9:30 a.m.:  Opening Address - Tillman Auditorium

August 19, Tuesday, 1:00-5:00 p.m.: College of Education Opening Meeting, Withers 401
 
August 19, Tuesday: Departmental Retreats - various locations

August 20-21:  Orientation V

August 20, Wednesday, 2:30-4:30 p.m.: Advising & Registration - Transfers - various locations

August 21, Thursday, 9:00 a.m. -  10:30 a.m.: College Opening Faculty Assembly Meetings - Coll. of Arts & Sciences: Kinard 018; Coll. of Business Administration (9:00-3:00 p.m.): Thurmond 210;  Coll. of Visual & Performing Arts: Rutledge 119

August 21, Thursday: Advising for New Freshmen: 10:30 a.m., Various locations; Registration for New Freshmen: 1:00 p.m., Carroll 221/222

August 22-31: Welcome Week

August 22, Friday, 7:00 a.m.: Residence Halls open for freshmen & transfer students

August 22, Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.: New Faculty Orientation - West Center

August 22, Friday, 2:00 p.m.:
Faculty Conference - Plowden Auditorium, Withers

August 24, Sunday, 8:00 a.m.: Residence Halls open for returning students

August 25-29: Registration continues via Wingspan

August 25, Monday, 3:00 p.m.: Convocation - Byrnes Auditorium

August 25, Monday, 4:00 p.m.:
Community Picnic - Front Lawn/West Center (rain)

August 25, Monday, 5:00 p.m.: First day of fall classes.

August 29, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council (optional) - Macfeat House Conference Room B

 

September

September 1, Monday:  Winthrop is CLOSED on Labor Day.

September 2, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.:  Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

September 2, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Opening Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

September 5, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE - Withers 401

September 9, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Collection Management Meeting for Library Liaison Officers: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

September 12, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

September 12, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Thurmond 208

September 19, Friday, 1:00 p.m.:  Graduate Faculty Assembly, Kinard 018

September 26, Friday, 2:00 p.m.:  Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum - West 210

 

October

October 3, Friday: Interim grading opens for faculty

October 3, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

October 9, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.: Deadline for faculty to submit Interim grades

October 10, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly - Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

October 10, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

October 14, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee meeting - Withers 209

October 17-20, Friday--Monday:  Fall Break

October 22, Wednesday: Advising for Spring 2015 registration begins.

October 23, Thursday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

October 24, Friday: Course withdrawal deadling

October 24, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

October 31, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council meeting - Thurmond 208

 

November

November 5, Wednesday: Early Registration for Spring 2015 begins..

November 7, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Thurmond 208

November 14, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

November 14, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly - Kinard 018

November 14, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum - West 210

November 14, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

November 18, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

November 21, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

November 26-30, Wednesday-Sunday:  Thanksgiving holidays. (Offices closed Nov. 27-28.)

Back to Top

December

December 5, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Barnes Recital Hall

December 8, Monday: Last day of classes for Fall 2014.

December 9, Tuesday: Study Day.

December 9, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

December 10-16, Wednesday-Tuesday: Final examinations

December 12, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

December 17, Wednesday, 3:00 p.m.: Graduate degree candidate grades due

December 18, Thursday: 9:00 a.m. Undergraduate degree candidate grades due; 7:00 p.m., Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum.

December 19, Friday, 5:00 p.m.: ALL grades due

December 20, Saturday: 11 a.m., Undergraduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum; 6 p.m., Graduates check out of residence halls. Residence Halls close.

December 23, Tuesday: Noon, grades available on Wingspan.

December 17 - January 11: Holiday Break (Offices closed Dec. 24 - Jan. 2.)

Back to Top

January 2015

January 9, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

January 12, Monday: First day of Spring  2015 classes.

January 12-16, Monday-Friday: Add/Drop

January 16, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum, West 210

January 19, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. Offices closed; no classes. 

January 23, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council (optional) - Macfeat House Conference Room B

January 29, Thursday, 11 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium  

January 30, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

Back to Top

February

February 6, Friday, 2:00 pm: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

February 10, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

February 13, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

February 13, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Thurmond 208  

February 13, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference, Kinard 018

February 20, Friday: Interim Grade Reporting opens for faculty. 

February 20, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum - West 210

February 26, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.: Interim grades due from faculty.

February 27, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, Kinard 018

February 27, Friday, 2:00 pm: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

Back to Top

March

March 3, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Academic Council (optional) - Macfeat House Conference Room B

March 3, Tuesday, 3:00 pm: Teacher Education Committee meeting - Withers 401

March 6, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

March 6, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Kinard Auditorium

March 11, Wednesday: Course withdrawal deadline
 
March 13, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

March 16-20, Monday-Friday: Spring Break

March 24, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

March 25, Wednesday: Advising for Fall 2015 begins.

March 27, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CBA: Thurmond 210

 

Back to Top

April

April 3, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

April 3, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Thurmond 212

April 8, Wednesday: Early Registration for Fall 2015 begins.

April 10, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

April 10, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on Undergraduate Curriculum - West 210 

April 17, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, Kinard 018

April 17, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

April 24, Friday, 2:00 pm: Faculty Conference - Barnes Recital Hall

April 27, Monday: Last day of Spring 2015 classes.

April 28, Tuesday: Study Day; Faculty/Staff/Retirees Awards Ceremony

April 28, Tuesday, 11:00 am: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

April 29 - May 5, Wednesday-Tuesday:
Final examinations.

 

Back to Top

May

May 5, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

May 6, Wednesday: 9 a.m., Undergraduates check out of residence halls; 3:00 p.m., Graduate degree grades due.

May 7, Thursday, 9:00 a.m.: Undergraduate degree grades due; 7 p.m.: Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum

May 8, Friday, 10:00 a.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

May 8, Friday: 5 p.m., ALL grades due.

May 9, Saturday: 11 a.m., Undergraduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum; 6 p.m., Graduates check out of residence halls.; Residence Halls close.

May 18, Monday: Maymester begins.

May 25, Monday: Memorial Day holiday. Offices closed; no classes.

Back to Top

June

June 5, Friday: Maymester ends.  

June 8, Monday: Summer sessions B and C begin.

Back to Top

July

July 9, Wednesday:  Last day of C session.

July 14, Monday: Summer session D begins.

Back to Top