Community & Visitors Parents & Families Future Students Current Students Alumni & Friends Faculty & Staff
Office of Academic Space and Scheduling

Important Dates & Faculty Governance Calendar

A workgroup was formed in February 2009 to consider the best possible ways to make use of the newly created common meeting times, to be implemented in fall 2009. Among the group's recommendations were: To establish a predictable annual pattern of university-level committee meeting dates in order to facilitate curricular review and to create and maintain a comprehensive academic calendar online to show committee meetings and important registration dates and accreditation deadlines in one easy-to-access place.

2015-2016

Months
 
Months
 
January February March
April May June
July August September
October November December

Click Here to View Faculty Governance Meeting Dates by Committee

 

August 2015

August 7, Friday: Last day of B session.

August 12, Wednesday: Last day of D session

August 13, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

August 17, Monday, 10:00 a.m.: Opening Address - Tillman Auditorium

August 17, Monday, 1:00-4:00 p.m.: Working Session for Academic Administrators (invitation only)- DiGiorgio Campus Center, Richardson Ballroom

August 18, Tuesday, 9:00 a.m. -  10:30 a.m.: College Opening Faculty Assembly Meetings - Coll. of Arts & Sciences: Kinard 018; Coll. of Business Administration (9:00 a.m.-3:00 p.m.): Thurmond 210;  Coll. of Education (9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.): Withers 401; Coll. of Visual & Performing Arts: Rutledge 119

August 19-20:  Orientation V

August 19, Wednesday, 2:30-4:30 p.m.: Advising & Registration - Transfers - various locations

August 20, Thursday, 9:00 a.m.: University College Opening Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

August 20, Thursday: Advising for New Freshmen: 10:30 a.m., various locations; Registration for New Freshmen: 1:00 p.m., Carroll 221/222

August 21-30: Welcome Week

August 21, Friday, 7:00 a.m.: Residence Halls open for freshmen & transfer students

August 21, Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m.: New Faculty Orientation - West Center

August 21, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Plowden Auditorium, Withers

August 23, Sunday, 8:00 a.m.: Residence Halls open for returning students

August 24-28: Registration continues via Wingspan

August 24, Monday, 3:00 p.m.: Convocation - Byrnes Auditorium

August 24, Monday, 4:00 p.m.: Community Picnic - Front Lawn/West Center (rain)

August 24, Monday, 5:00 p.m.: First day of fall classes.

August 28, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council (optional) - Macfeat House Conference Room B

August 28, Friday, 6:30-9:30 p.m.: Faculty/Staff Party - McBryde Hall

 

September

September 1, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.:  Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

September 4, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE - Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

September 7, Monday: Winthrop is CLOSED on Labor Day.

September 8, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Collection Management Meeting for Library Liaison Officers - Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

September 10, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

September 11, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Withers 205

September 18, Friday, 1:00 p.m.:  Graduate Faculty Assembly, Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

September 18, Friday, 2:00 p.m.:  Committee on University Curriculum - West 210

September 22, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee meeting - Withers 401

September 25, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

 

October

October 2, Friday: Interim grading opens for faculty

October 6, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee meeting - Withers 401

October 8, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly - Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

October 8, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.:  Deadline for faculty to submit Interim grades

October 9, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

October 19-20, Monday--Tuesday:  Fall Break

October 21, Wednesday: Advising for Spring 2016 registration begins.

October 22, Thursday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

October 23, Friday: Course withdrawal deadline

October 23, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

October 30, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council meeting - Thurmond 208

 

 

November

 

November 3, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

November 4, Wednesday: Early Registration for Spring 2016 begins..

November 6, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Withers 205

November 12, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

November 13, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly - Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

November 13, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - West 210

November 20, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

November 25-29, Wednesday-Sunday: Thanksgiving holidays. (Offices closed Nov. 26-27.)

Back to Top

December

December 4, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Barnes Recital Hall

December 7, Monday: Last day of classes for Fall 2015.

December 8, Tuesday: Study Day.

December 8, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

December 9-15, Wednesday-Tuesday: Final examinations

December 10, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

December 16, Wednesday, 3:00 p.m.: Graduate degree candidate grades due

December 17, Thursday: 9:00 a.m. Undergraduate degree candidate grades due

December 18, Friday, 5:00 p.m.: ALL grades due

December 19, Saturday: 11 a.m., Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum; 6 p.m., Graduates check out of residence halls. Residence Halls close.

December 22, Tuesday: Noon, grades available on Wingspan.

December 16 - January 10: Holiday Break (Offices closed Dec. 24 - Jan. 1.)

Back to Top

January 2016

January 11, Monday: First day of Spring  2016 classes.

January 11-15, Monday-Friday: Add/Drop

January 14, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

January 15, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

January 18, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday.  Offices closed; no classes.

January 22, Friday, 11 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium  

January 22, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119 

January 29, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

Back to Top

February

February 2, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

February 5, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Withers 205

February 11, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room 

February 12, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - West 210

February 19, Friday: Interim Grade Reporting opens for faculty. 

February 19, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

February 25, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.: Interim grades due from faculty.

February 26, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

Back to Top

March

March 4, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

March 9, Wednesday: Course withdrawal deadline
 
March 10, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

March 14-18, Monday-Friday: Spring Break

March 22, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly - Dinkins Auditorium

March 23, Wednesday: Advising for Fall 2016 begins.

March 25, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies -  CAS: Kinard 018; CBA: Thurmond 210; COE: Withers 401; CVPA: Rutledge 119

March 29, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee meeting - Withers 401

Back to Top

April

April 1, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

April 1, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - Withers 205

April 6, Wednesday: Early Registration for Fall 2016 begins.

April 8, Friday, 1:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, Whitton Auditorium, Carroll Hall

April 8, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - West 210

April 14, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

April 15, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - Macfeat House Conference Room B

April 22, Friday, 2:00 pm: Faculty Conference - Dina's Place, DiGiorgio Campus Center

April 25, Monday: Last day of Spring 2016 classes.

April 26, Tuesday: Study Day; Faculty/Staff/Retirees Awards Ceremony

April 26, Tuesday, 11:00 am: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

April 27 - May 3, Wednesday-Tuesday: Final examinations

Back to Top

May

May 3, Tuesday, 3:00 p.m.: Teacher Education Committee - Withers 401

May 4, Wednesday: 9 a.m., Undergraduates check out of residence halls; 3:00 p.m., Graduate degree grades due.

May 5, Thursday, 9:00 a.m.: Undergraduate degree grades due; 7 p.m.: Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum

May 5, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

May 6, Friday, 5 p.m.: ALL grades due.

May 7, Saturday: 11 a.m., Undergraduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum; 6 p.m., Graduates check out of residence halls.; Residence Halls close.

May 16, Monday: Maymester begins

May 30, Monday: Memorial Day holiday. Offices closed; no classes.

Back to Top

June

June 3, Friday: Maymester ends  

June 6, Monday: Summer sessions B and C begin.

June 9, Thursday, 3:00 p.m.: Dacus Library Faculty Assembly: Dacus 2nd fl. conference room

 

July

July 4, Monday: Independence Day holiday.  Offices closed; no classes.

July 7, Thursday:  Last day of C session

July 11, Monday: Summer session D begins.

Back to Top



CONTACT INFORMATION
Academic Space and Scheduling
101A Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-3300
803/323-3711 (fax)
Academic CalendarsWingspanCampus MapAdobe Reader